Another Windy Day

chasing a life in the high desert

First Horse Show

November 3rd, 2012, the MBHA held a little local show at our ranch, so that seemed like the perfect opportunity for Zeke to be in his first show!

He’s been doing wonderfully in our riding, and the day before the show I gave him his first soap bath. He didn’t mind at all, though his winter coat is coming in so it took a while to get him dry! I polished up our tack, including the nice new bridle he got last month, and we were ready.

As usual, it was me that had all the issues. I worried that he’d get crazy when he heard the loudspeaker, or panic when he saw all the new horses and trailers on the property, or maybe that aliens would land that day and spook all the horses. Who knows. I can always worry about something. I even asked if I would be able to get my entry fees back if he freaked out in the first class and I decided not to ride in any more. Cindy gave me that look, the one that says, “You’re way over-thinking this again.” So I signed up for everything we could legally ride in, all the western classes that were for adults.

ImageAs we rode around the ranch, it was obvious that Zeke wasn’t worried in any way about all the things I worried about! We did have to pause to approach a woman with a stroller as it rolled along, but he got over it once he saw it wasn’t chasing him. The announcer, the new horses, trailers – he thought it was cool. We went in our two trail classes first, and I made a lot of mistakes by trying to rush through it. The second class went better than the first, but I was just glad to get those first ones over with! 

Image

 

Our first arena class was Western Equitation, Adult. We had to ride around the rail, then do a little pattern. I have to say, Zeke nailed it! It was like he suddenly realized everyone was watching him, and he did everything not only perfectly, but with a little bit of swagger that said, “I’m a show pony!” It was really fun, and funny. We took a blue ribbon in that very first class!

Image

 

Image

Image

 

The rest of the day went great. We had a great time, got tired, but finished all our classes. In the end we won three first place ribbons, for Western Eq Adult, Western Pleasure Adult, and Country Pleasure – a real coup since that was was open to both English and Western riders. We took third in Western Pleasure Open, Jack Benny, and Obedience  fourth in both our trail Classes, and fifth in Western Eq Open.

yeah, it was just a little show with not a ton of entries, but it was great fun. And it was great knowing my horse not only took everything in stride, but actually seemed to enjoy and play along with the day! Congratulations Ezekiel!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

